Done.

Earlier in the year I traded my subscription in for three-month game time cards. Current one runs out at the end of the month, and I’m not renewing it.

If you're doing something, do it properly.

If you’re doing something, do it properly.

Horribly enough, there’s no option to supply Blizzard with a “why I’m unsubbing” message if you’re on prepaid, which calls into question every single thing they’ve ever said about reasons why people unsub. They’re just not getting feedback from people who are using game cards, and in my experience, that’s most of the player base. Not to mention that I switched to prepaid partly because I wasn’t sure if I’d want to keep playing.

This has been a while coming. I submitted an ingame CS ticket explaining one of the issues – to whit, that Blizzard seems to think that grinding on alts is gameplay, and I tend to think that playing different characters with different abilities is gameplay. But there’s no room in 500 characters for all of the reasons, so in order of “hey I should remember to put this down”, here we go:

  • Alts. I’m an altoholic who has spent the entire expansion playing a single character. I dislike feeling that time spent on an alt means less effectiveness on my raiding toon. I dislike having to grind stuff on alts that I’ve already unlocked on my main – and yes, the commendations and timeless isle stuff is much better, but commendations were after a huge chunk of the base quit already, and timeless comes at the end of the expansion, when Blizzard admit that they relax the rules. That doesn’t bode well for alt-play in the future.
  • Melee DPS are second-class citizens, and I don’t see that going away. I like smacking things in the face, but Blizzard’s encounter designers don’t seem to believe in this as a valid playstyle, and their graphics team can’t seem to figure out how to make non-casters look and feel impressive.
  • Timeless Isle style content doesn’t appeal to me. I don’t want to run around looking for rares and arriving just too late, or grinding mobs to spawn a better mob that I don’t get to before someone kills it, or doing anything involving fucking Shaohao rep. But at the WoD announcement, TI-style content was trumpeted as the way of the future. Yeah, not my future, thanks. I’d rather they look back at Domination Point.
  • Artificial gating. The worst was requiring us to earn reputations in order to spend our valour, and that persisted right up to Shado-Pan Assault, aka the final tier of valour gear. Fantastic idea there, guys. Totally not still bitter about that shit. This feeds heavily into the alt issue, because climbing those gates the second or third time was just never worth it. But it’s also the little things, like putting major content hubs out in the middle of bloody nowhere with no quick way to get there. Sure, flight paths let you see the world… but it’s five minutes that the “player” is not actually playing the game.
  • A minor point: I went on holiday, and didn’t miss the game at all. I was relieved. That’s not something you want your players feeling – that not playing feels like a pressure draining from behind the eyes, that the distortion this pressure caused was robbing everything else of its delight.
  • Finally: boneheadedness, specifically on Blizzard’s part. The current Blizzard design team is very sensitive to criticism, and seems to respond to any well-considered argument with “well, that’s true, but another segment of our playerbase experiences [x hair-raising idiocy] differently” or the old favourite “players on the forums are not representative of the overall base”. As I pointed out earlier with regard to unsub reasons, Blizzard is not above using non-representative data when it supports their view. There’s a term for that, and it is confirmation bias.

    The current design team take months to fix issues that players feel very strongly about, apparently simply because they don’t want to admit that they came up with a poor design. They blame players for not testing for them, especially in PvP, even when issues are pointed out to them before the content goes live. They carry elements that are not fun forward – see again rep gating for valour gear, culminating in not even having a valour tier for the latest content. All in all, the design team come across as childish and stubborn.

That final point is something that’s been building up throughout the expansion, and something that is going to carry over to the next. The design team is unable to deal with the fact that they make poor decisions, and that they are dealing with a sophisticated customer base with intimate knowledge of a product that’s been running for a decade now, counting the beta. Their arrogance and stubbornness is as galling as any griefer in LFR.

So yeah. Not sure what’s next… maybe Deus Ex, maybe more shooting, maybe more coding, maybe BDSM or becoming a florist. What’s certain is that it isn’t going to happen in Azeroth.

6 comments
  1. Beetle said:

    So you’re not even going to give WOD a little try? When its fresh out and the curious bugs start biting you?

    • Leit said:

      An anecdote: when I was 18 I went out with friends and matched their shots with double espressos. All of their shots, anytime anyone ordered. Got drunk, had the second worst hangover – actually the worst, since the festival where I had my worst was awesome, and makes for a pretty great story – and realised that coffee wasn’t going to be a thing anymore.

      Haven’t drunk a drop in a decade. This is who I am.

      (apparently also getting old, ouch)

      So yeah, curious bugs aren’t going to have a great time against resolve. As I explained, I don’t really see the design environment improving.

      A secondary reason as well: while I got a fresh shiny new machine that runs everything at Ultra, my wife’s puny laptop isn’t coping so well with increasing graphic requirements, which means by WoD she’ll get the unenviable choices of “everything is jagged blobs” or “ms powerpoint”. With her not playing, it removes one of the big reasons why I started WoW in the first place – ie. that it was something that we could do together.

  2. “Florist” sounds like your best bet! Or do a Kickstarter for a florist-themed MMO.

    Are you still hanging around WordPress?

    • Leit said:

      Yeah, but I suspect the blog’s going to devolve into very occasional posts on defensive pistol shooting (the *other* hobby) and motorcycling.

      Wife’s finally making actual progress on getting a beastie of her own, so soon we’ll be able to ride romantically into the sunset, side by side. Or she’ll discover all of the wonderful things about getting tar and stones scrubbed out of one’s flayed flesh, the way I did. Aaah, the good times…

      “Florist-themed MMO” sounds suspiciously like Second Life. Or possibly a class in Kingdom of Loathing.

  3. Madrox said:

    I Hear GW2 is good… You should give it a bash!

    • Leit said:

      Get thee behind me, Satan.

Disagree Vehemently

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

