Crunch part 2: Son of Crunch

With all of the timesinks in Pandaria just to maintain some level of effectiveness, taking the time to just go rumble through something for the fun of it can slip a bit. So. Last night we had an impromptu Sinestra run.

The whole thing pretty much started as an offhand comment on Mumble. Within a few minutes we had 9 stalwart souls clearing BoT HC, one playing LoL, and another avoiding us by citing the fact that he was at his gf’s place and nowhere near his PC. Such slacking, I don’t even.

This was the first time I’ve seen Sinestra since Cata. It’s also the first time downing her. Oh, and we got the guildrun achieve. Firsts all around! As usual, I didn’t get a pic. Unusually, I do have a reason!

Stop that girl, she swiped my boots!

Stop that girl, she swiped my boots! And her little dog, too!

Yeah, she pretty much dropped that chest right on my prime belf hindquarters. Talk about your jealous bitches. Sorry hon, they don’t make figures like this in XXXL-plus-plus-plus.

Ermehgerd make it stop

Ermehgerd make it stop

Meanwhile, back in the land of minimal progression for maximum time investment, I’m still hitting up scenarios like a drunk student 10 minutes before the club closes. It’d be nice to get something other than Domination Point and Greenstone, though. I mean, I hear there’s this sweet scenario called Dagger in the Dark? Got a quest for it and everything, but my rogue hasn’t seen it once in the 3 weeks that quest has been in his log.

Two of my characters hit valour cap this week, which is some kind of personal record this expansion. Turns out that relentlessly running a healer through everything possible will cap her pretty quickly, allowing one’s main to reap the delicious pointy benefits.

Yes, I just said main. Despite being an incurable altoholic, the game at this point is not tuned for anything more than a main and maybe a couple of satellite characters. This admission cost me a lot, and it’s costing even more emotionally when I come up against problems like my legs. No, this isn’t going to segue into an Oscar Pistorius joke.

I’ve been eligible to run Nightmare of Shek’zeer LFR every week it’s been available. I haven’t run it every week, but every time I have I’ve spent a token on it. So far that’s 24 rolls. Add in any number of rolls on Sha of Wednesday Lootiness, A bunch more on the final boss of MSV, and… well… it’s starting to look like the game’s just forgotten entirely that it can drop leg slot items for my paladin. I’m still wearing the 471 (upgraded!) blues that I got a day or two after hitting 90.

It feels like I’m stuck. While other folks are unlocking their 4-set bonuses, carrying their ilvls to ever more deliciously satisfying heights, I’m stuck with my 2-set and half-valour, half-LFR gear. The only thing I’ve upgraded is my weapon, and that’s cost me yet more valour that could have been spent on, say, better legs – a choice I made because seriously, it could only be a couple of weeks before I get a drop, right? I mean, it’s been months. But no.

Skill beats gear, and I know that. It’s demoralising, though, and it’s getting hard to watch other people get stuff. That’s borderline fucking Lex Luthor territory, and I hate myself for it. I hate myself for not being able to accept grinding my supposed fucking enjoyment time away so that I can afford better valour shit, and I hate that I should be glad about all of the genuinely cool stuff my shammy got last week but all I can think about is that it’s not on my main. I hate blizzard’s stupid fucking RNG. I don’t care that their gear rolls are balanced over the entire fucking population, I want my fucking turn to get nice things too.

I hate how many times *I* cropped up in that passage, like it’s a goddamned single-player game.

Hell, even my minimal “skill” is taking a hit. My performance on Garalon this week was way below last week.

Hnh. That passage originally started “In short:”. Yeah, least appropriate opening EU. That’s only the depressive part of the pendulum swing, though. I got a neat transmog axe off Cho’gall HC last night, and my bite-size instances are still cool. We’re killing bosses, and we still have a couple of weeks to hit Terrace before 5.2. I’ve got a new mouse, and while muscle memory confusion is causing things like random Blinding Lights, it’s working out pretty well and once I’m used to it I’ll have quick access to a lot more of my skillset. And last but not least, I’ve been running my warrior in scenarios.

She generates way too much aggro for her damage, I haven’t really got a good handle on the super-sporadic TGF rage management yet, but my word… the mobility. It’s insane. It’s like playing the opening scene of X2. She can be everywhere. Dominance Point has its faults, but from a warrior perspective it’s really one long charge from group to group to leap to intercept to group. ‘Course, charging in ahead of everyone else and hitting Dragon Roar might just be one of the reasons her aggro runs hot…

Parting shot: anyone else *really* wanna see what the goblins are plotting to launch off this thing? Bet it’s gonna be awesome.

Yup, that's the alliance base down there, alright...

Yup, that’s the alliance dock downrange, alright…

8 comments
  1. As far as that ramp goes … you know that Sha-infused ore that we’ve been mining, yes? :D

    “Skill beats gear, and I know that. It’s demoralising, though, and it’s getting hard to watch other people get stuff. That’s borderline fucking Lex Luthor territory, and I hate myself for it. I hate myself for not being able to accept grinding my supposed fucking enjoyment time away so that I can afford better valour shit, and I hate that I should be glad about all of the genuinely cool stuff my shammy got last week but all I can think about is that it’s not on my main. I hate blizzard’s stupid fucking RNG. I don’t care that their gear rolls are balanced over the entire fucking population, I want my fucking turn to get nice things too.”

    ^ this

    I JUST WANT A NICE BOW OR GUN OR SOMETHING FOR GAWD’S SAKE /SOB

    • Leit said:

      Uh… the last old-god infused ore we had was Saronite, and last I heard K12 was still a “step here to explode violently” zone out to a couple of klicks.

      Then again, what goblin settlement isn’t. /sigh

      That passage kinda got away from me there, but the worst thing is it’s honest.

      • Oh, I just remember that when I had to go mine the ore in that one mine on the beach (HELPFUL DESCRIPTION IS HELPFUL), little baby Shas kept popping out. I can’t remember the exact wording, but there was also some flavor text or something about the ore being powerful. Therefore, in my mind, it’s totally Sha-infused.

      • Leit said:

        QED.

        (i have no idea what you’re talking about despite having krasaranger on a couple of toons now)

  2. repgrind said:

    You know, you could totally queue specifically for Dagger in the Dark and get it over with instead of being stubborn. :p

    • Leit said:

      LIES.

      Also, the quest gives nothing but random queue gives 20-60 valour. Logic states that DitD should come up around one in ten scenarios, but logic apparently doesn’t account for Blizzard Not-So-R™ NG and its 4-in-5 bias toward Dominance Point.

      • repgrind said:

        The quest gives rep. That’s something!

      • Leit said:

        Less rep than a single daily? :D

        One of the nice things about DO is that their rep is nice and quick to farm. That scenario was a great hook, and I sort of wish it led into another unlockable scenario… that would have been worth it.

Disagree Vehemently

